BG Chap 7 - Three types of bhakti

(1) Kevala or pure bhakti

This was described in the beginning of this chapter (7.1) and will also be described by the Lord later. The result of pure bhakti is that one becomes an associate of the Lord with dāsya, sakhya, vātsalya or mādhurya prema.

(2) Pradhānī-bhūtā-bhakti

The four types of pious people described before qualify for pradhānī-bhūtā-bhakti, in which bhakti is the main component.

(a) Karma-miśra-bhakti

The first three types are sakāma devotees. They have karma-miśra-bhakti because they ask Kṛṣṇa to satisfy their material desires. The inquisitive is placed between the distressed and the desirer of wealth because of the hope that these two types will develop inquisitiveness in the future. The result of this bhakti is attainment of the respective desires (deliverance from suffering, attainment of scriptural knowledge, gain of material benefits). And after that, because of the superior nature of their object of worship (the Lord), those devotees attain liberation in the form of sālokya with predominance of happiness and powers. And there is no fall down as in the case of exhausting enjoyment in svarga as a result of karma.

(b) Jñāna-miśra-bhakti

The fourth type (jñānī) has jñāna miśra bhakti, and the result is śānta rati (bhāva), as in the case of Sanaka and others. Sometimes, because of exceptional mercy of the Lord and his devotee, the result of jñāna miśra bhakti is the supreme position of prema, as in the case of Śukadeva. If sakāma bhakti (the first three types) becomes niṣkāma, the result is jñāna miśra bhakti. Sometimes, those who have jñāna or karma miśra bhakti attain prema in dāsya and higher rasas on their own, because of influence of association with devotees in previous lives. However, that prema is predominated by a mood of reverence.

(3) Guṇī-bhūtā-bhakti

A third type of bhakti, guṇī-bhūtā-bhakti (processes in which bhakti is subsidiary) is seen in the karmīs, jñānīs and yogīs, who predominantly desire results for their actions (bhukti and mukti). Because of the lack of predominance of bhakti, and instead with a predominance of karma, jñāna or yoga, it is not classified as bhakti. As things should be classed by predominance of quality, these are classed as karma, jñāna and yoga, and the practitioners are not classed as bhaktas, but as karmīs, jñānīs or yogīs. The result of sakāma karma is svarga, the result of niṣkāma karma is jñāna yoga, and the result of jñāna and aṣṭāṅga yoga is nirvāṇa mokṣa, impersonal liberation.