Our Three Divisions

When you’re trying to present the whole of reality—which is essentially what we’re trying to do here at Krishna.com—how do you organize that, and have it make sense? After years of puzzling it over, we thought, “Why not present things the way they’re already naturally organized in the Vedas?”

Everything we offer on Krishna.com falls within three basic categories:

Sambandha, or “Nature/God/and Us”—explaining the who, what, where, how, and why of our current situation.

Abhideya, or the “Activities of Life”—outlining practical steps for making spiritual progress from wherever we are towards:

Prayojana, the “Ultimate Goal”—dealing with the perfection of our spiritual life, where we fully understand our own spiritual identity and that of Krishna, the Supreme Personality of Godhead.

The terms may be new to you, but you will hopefully see how helpful they are. They’re like landmarks on a map, making it possible to see where you are on the way to God realization

1. Sambandha (Nature, God, and Us)
Sambandha means “relationship.” This section features info on the “who, what, where, how, and why” of our situation in this world, and how these things relate to each another. Topics in Sambandha address the following questions:

  • Who are we?
  • What is the nature of this world?
  • How did we—and the world—get here? Where does everything come from? And
  • Why does anything exist at all?

In other words, Sambandha focuses on understanding matter, spirit, and the controller of both.

2. Abhideya (Activity of Life)

Abhideya means “transcendental activities,” or “the chief function of the living entity.” Here you’ll see how to put everything from Sambandha into practice—and begin living a life centered on self-realization. For example, Abhideya is where you’ll find information on:

  • Bhakti-yoga
  • Krishna consciousness
  • Mantra meditation
  • Helpful guidelines for living a more sattvic or purified life

3. Prayojana (The Ultimate Goal)

Ultimately, Krishna.com is all about Krishna, the Personality of Godhead. To be able to fully appreciate Krishna—as He is—it helps to understand the difference between spirit and matter (Sambandha), and be sincerely and seriously engaged in spiritual practice (Abhideya). Prayojana is where to learn about:

  • Krishna the Person
  • Krishna’s pastimes
  • Forms of God
  • Krishna’s pure devotees
  • The spiritual world